top of page
Post: Blog2_Post
  • Jazelle Lim

Once A New Lifer, Always A New Lifer: MGCNLCA’s Alumni Teachers

Can you imagine one of your classmates roaming around the school, but as a teacher? Over the years, MGCNLCA has been blessed with numerous alumni who have come back to their second home as teachers. The pandemic did not stop our population from growing in number, allowing us to proudly welcome new members of our faculty: Mr. Gershwin Choa-shi of Batch 10, Ms. Daphne Tioco of Batch 13, Ms. Janaye Villanueva of Batch 13, and this year, the twins Ms. Bhetanny and Bhritanny Go of Batch 15. This Teachers’ Day, let’s get to know these alumni-turned-teachers a little bit more.


Disclaimer: Some responses were edited to keep the article as concise but still as informative as possible.


  1. Mr. Gershwin Choa-shi (Junior High School A - Math, Senior High School - Statistics and Probability)

  • Age Started Studying At MGCNLCA: Around 3 years old

  • Favorite Subject: History and Math

  • Least Favorite Subject: English

  • How does it feel like being a teacher at your alma mater?

“I've since gotten used to the feeling, it was a good thing I started my teaching here during the pandemic. I didn't get to have much of a jarring experience. It also helped that I was already assisting the Robotics varsity every now and then before I came back to teach. It's a blessing to be able to have my teachers as my coworkers!”

  • Description of MGCNLCA Teaching Experience: Busy and a Blessing

  • Busy: “As an MGCNLCA teacher, it's natural to be busy. There's so much to do with the things God has entrusted us with.”

  • Blessing: “Despite the grind, it's a blessing to have a community that supports and cares for each other, challenges each other, and celebrates wins together.”


  1. Ms. Daphne Tioco (Lower Primary - Unit of Inquiry)

  • Age Started Studying At MGCNLCA: Around 4 years old

  • Favorite Subject: P.E.

  • Least Favorite Subject: Math

  • When you came back, were you greeted with shock from a drastic change in school or with delight from seeing something that remained the same?

“I teach on the 3rd floor so there's not much change to adapt to. I get slightly sentimental though when I pass by the SHS student lounge. It used to be just a bunch of long tables, chairs, a piano, and a vending machine. In that area, some of my fondest memories were created. These included bonding with batchmates through jamming sessions on the piano, having frustrating Minute Maid purchases, and having many meaningful conversations with close friends I still treasure today. Now I won't be able to project those memories when I pass by that corner of the 6th floor, since the student lounge has changed so much. However, I have new memories and conversations in the new student lounge with my close friends who come to visit as alumni.”

  • Description of MGCNLCA Teaching Experience: Directed By God

  • “All the external factors and spiritual nudgings pointed in the direction of teaching here. Since I don't have a passion for anything and don't seem as emotionally attached to this calling as my teacher friends, I get an occasional wave of impostor's syndrome about teaching. But, God has given me affirmations these past 3 years that I'm where He wants me to be. So I hold onto that.”


  1. Ms. Janaye Villanueva (Lower Primary - Unit of Inquiry)

  • Age Started Studying At MGCNLCA: 2 years old

  • Favorite Subject: Subjects related to the humanities (ie. English and Araling Panlipunan)

  • Least Favorite Subject: Math and Physics

  • How does it feel like being a teacher at your alma mater?

“It feels surreal! It's always just been a dream for me, and working here now gives me a deeper appreciation for my teachers. It is very different from being a student, I now get to see how things work behind the scenes and how hard teachers really work to give the best for their students! Late nights of checking student outputs, lesson planning, listening to learners as they share their feelings and emotions every day, managing behaviors, and doing the actual teaching on top of all that can get tiring, but being here in the school and being surrounded by such a great, supportive community really makes it so much lighter to bear!”

  • Description of MGCNLCA Teaching Experience: Exhilarating, Thankful, and Humbling

  • Exhilarating - “Every day is filled with new stories to tell and new experiences with my students, it always makes my day!”

  • Thankful - “Thankful for the students, parents, and colleagues I'm surrounded with! It is a blessing to be part of such an amazing community!”

  • Humbling - “I have been learning and am continuing to learn so much in this journey -- how to become a better teacher, about myself, and the Lord! I am glad I get to experience the Lord's grace daily.”


  1. Ms. Bhetanny Go (Junior High School A - Writing Lab)

  • Age Started Studying At MGCNLCA: 5 years old

  • Favorite Subject: Home Economics

  • Least Favorite Subject: Math

  • What does it feel like being a teacher at your alma mater?

“Being a teacher in my alma mater is something I am incredibly proud of. It is both a privilege and a blessing. Of course the differences between being a teacher and a student here are drastic, but it only makes me appreciate my former teachers—now colleagues and supervisors—even more.”

  • Description of MGCNLCA Teaching Experience: Fulfilling and Unpredictable

  • “It is fulfilling because I know that I am doing something worthwhile, yet it is unpredictable because you'll never know what will happen in each class. We may be 101% prepared and ready, but that stops there. Maybe a student will ask a question or say something that will stump you, the class won't be as active in participating during the discussion, or you'll spend the entire period giving a sermon to the class about their behavior. You'll never really know what'll happen until you get there, so what I tell myself before every class is: come what may.”


  1. Ms. Bhritanny Go (Early Years - Unit of Inquiry)

  • Age Started Studying At MGCNLCA: 5 years old

  • Favorite Subject: Home Economics and Filipino

  • Least Favorite Subject: Math

  • When you came back, were you greeted with shock from a drastic change in school or delight from seeing something that remained the same?

“I was both shocked and delighted to see all the changes MGCNLCA had gone through. The school felt familiar, yet very different. Seeing all the changes the school had gone through was very encouraging because it was proof that it had evolved and grown—even during the pandemic, when classes were held online.”

  • Description of MGCNLCA Teaching Experience: Eye-Opening

  • “My senior [year] in college was spent interning in three different schools, so I had a lot of teaching experiences before I applied to MGCNLCA. I thought I knew part of what it is like to be a teacher, but being a teacher here is so far and different from my experiences during my internships. The teachers put so much love and care into everything they do, from decorating the classrooms to creating lesson plans. There is a lot that goes on behind the scenes, that only teachers would really know about and that definitely gave me a reality check. At the end of the day, teachers are human and we are not perfect.”


It’s incredibly encouraging to witness how these alumni have ventured with God and been led back to their roots. Being a teacher is not easy at all, but they, like many others, accepted God’s calling to fulfill this whirlwind of a journey in their lives. May this special day be one where we look back at all they’ve done and recognize the impact they’ve brought in each of our lives.


Thank you, teachers, for the love, positive influence, life-long memories, impactful lessons, and all that you’ve done for us. Without a doubt, you are all truly the world’s greatest heroes.



138 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page