top of page
Post: Blog2_Post
  • Uel Francine Cawaon

One Question, All Ages

I’m sure that in a time way back when, we were all asked one question: “What would you like to accomplish when you grow up?” Most children at six or seven years old would maybe tell you about what career they would like to take; say a businessman, pilot, an editor, or even a fashion designer.

As we grow older, our dreams become more grounded in whatever our situations are at the moment. The boy who wanted to be a race car driver might consider a career in accounting to support his future family. The little girl who dreamt of being a ballerina might now want to start a small business to leverage her hobby of crocheting. Soon, the “big goal” is owning their own house or getting their children through college.

More often than not, our goals and dreams change with age. With that, let’s take a look at the biggest goals for students and teachers of different ages in our very own MGC New Life Christian Academy.


“What is your biggest goal?”

(Interviewees were given the liberty to interpret this question as they saw fit.)


Alyssa, 8

“My biggest goal is to obey my parents without complaining or having bad thoughts. That is very hard for me because sometimes I have to do something I don't want to do.”


Nigel, 10

“My biggest goal is to win a Table Tennis competition for the school.”


Lucas Garcia, 12

“My biggest goal will always change. At this moment in time, I really would like to have as much fun while making it through high school, but I’m thinking of changing. This goal that I have will always be a goal but my most wanted goal is to make enough money to survive and to support other people. For now, I’m a normal high school student wanting to finish school well.”


Bianca Sy, 13

“Living my life to the fullest. While the phrase is overused, we only live once. When an opportunity is presented to me, the choice would fall on me to take it or leave it. I personally believe that it would be a waste to decline the offer. Who knows when I’d get such a chance once more?”

“We go through experiences both pleasant and unpleasant. We learn and create memories from these. However, have you ever thought about or realized their similarity? It’s that to encounter or confront these, you’d need to take up the offer, to intend to do it. If I choose to turn it down, I would never know what could’ve happened.”


Carlo Chua, 13

“My biggest goal is to be able to stick with God through whatever situation I am put in. If I stick with God, I will be led to the best path for me which can hopefully fulfill my other goals.”


Timothy Tan, 15

“In all honesty, I don't have many goals in life. I just let things happen - going with the flow. Apart from small goals like math, art, and future college plans, the biggest goal would probably [be] to keep myself and everyone else in my life happy. Whenever I see other people happy, I feel good too.”


Trei Sebatian Ngo, 16

“When I grow old, I'd want to look back happily and be content with everything I've done in my life. To do so, I want to make the right decisions with God's will in mind, learn from my past mistakes and shortcomings, and take every opportunity to grow as a person and as a Christian.”


Anna Corrine See, 17

“Right now, I think my biggest goal is to be able to graduate and start work at my dream job, as a personal fitness coach! Going along with that, my goal is to have a gym and cafe in the future.”


Ms. Daphne Tioco, 22

Grade 3 - UOI Teacher

“I don't think I've decided on any of my goals to be the "biggest." It's hard to measure, since each season in life is unique and I don't recall being emotionally invested in anything enough to call it a true long term goal–or even a "big" goal. I did/do have a bunch of smaller significant ones that change according to the circumstances God leads me through. The lack of emotional investment in a "big" goal makes me envy those who have an established sense of direction in life and passion for their "big" goal.

“On the other hand, the lack of emotional investment in such a goal allows my heart to be more flexible towards God's plan. There seem to be balanced pros and cons to whichever type of experiences someone has with passion and investment towards a "big" goal.

“At the end of the day, whether we have high or low degrees of passion towards anything, God is sovereign. We are ultimately better off seeking and following His supernaturally perfect will, since whatever great plans our human minds can come up with are limited to our imperfect nature. True fulfillment can't come from something human-generated, because anything human-generated is imperfect. That said, a goal generated by the embodiment of Goodness will surely aim to direct us to not only fulfillment, but also salvation and more.”


Mr. Jan Cedrick Lambatin, 28

Grade 10 - Math Teacher

“To be a loving husband and a responsible dad.”


Mrs. Maria Camille Bago, 31

Grade 1 - Social Studies Teacher

“To be a hands-on mom to my future children and to be a pastoral counselor who will give biblically aligned and sound advice to the people who have struggles on their mental, emotional and spiritual aspects of their lives which will also be a great opportunity to draw them to Christ.”


Mr. Jeffrey Ramos, 44

Grade 7 - Math Teacher

“I grew up in the slums, and at a very young age, I learned to help my parents earn money by selling street foods. While my friends were playing, I chose to help my mother go to the wet and dry market to buy our street food products. Then, I would look after a small table outside our house with our street foods near the railways.

“Despite our poor condition, God has put into my heart to love learning. During my elementary years, I always belonged to the first section. During my high school years, I was a consistent honor student and graduated Salutatorian. I finished my college years as a working student from the topmost fast-food chain in the country. I marvel at how I [was able to] balance my academics and work. Indeed, God has sustained [me] through the years. After graduation, the university invited me as a lecturer for college students, starting my teaching career. I want to share with my students that God used poverty to reveal Himself to me and improve my life and family life.

“As a teacher and a pastor simultaneously, I want to share with my students that Christian education will transform every family, community, society, and nation as a whole.”


Mrs. Joanna Uy, 48

Administration Staff and Grade 12 - Cell Group Leader

“My biggest goal is to build my dream house.”


Ms. Elisa Villanueva, 62

Nursery - Chinese Teacher

“To enjoy my retirement someday."

69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page